Universe Episodes People Resources Encyclopedia Home Find Index Help


 [USA] [Elsewhere] ### MASTER LIST ### [Novels] [Comics]

Contents: Pilot - Season One - Season Two - Season Three - Season Four - Season Five - Spinoffs
See Also: Modification times

Due to production constraints and other factors, several episodes during the run of the series were delayed, shown later in the sequence than originally intended. The effect isn't major in most cases, but there are minor things that make more sense if the episodes are viewed in the intended order. JMS has given the ordering for seasons one and two his blessing.

This list also inserts the TV movies into their proper chronological order; for example, "Thirdspace" takes place in the middle of season four.

Departures from the original US airing order are emphasized.

Pilot Movies

  1. Babylon 5: In the Beginning
  2. The Gathering

Season One ("Signs and Portents")

  1. Midnight on the Firing Line
  2. Soul Hunter
  3. Born to the Purple
  4. Infection
  5. The Parliament of Dreams
  6. Mind War
  7. The War Prayer
  8. And The Sky Full Of Stars
  9. Deathwalker
  10. Believers
  11. Survivors
  12. By Any Means Necessary
  13. Signs and Portents
  14. Grail
  15. Eyes
  16. A Voice in the Wilderness part 1
  17. A Voice in the Wilderness part 2
  18. Babylon Squared
  19. The Quality of Mercy
  20. TKO
  21. Legacies
  22. Chrysalis

Season Two ("The Coming Of Shadows")

  1. Points of Departure
  2. Revelations
  3. The Geometry of Shadows
  4. A Distant Star
  5. The Long Dark
  6. A Spider in the Web
  7. A Race Through Dark Places
  8. Soul Mates
  9. The Coming of Shadows
  10. GROPOS
  11. All Alone in the Night
  12. Acts of Sacrifice
  13. Hunter, Prey
  14. There All the Honor Lies
  15. And Now For a Word
  16. Knives
  17. In the Shadow of Z'ha'dum
  18. Confessions and Lamentations
  19. Divided Loyalties
  20. The Long, Twilight Struggle
  21. Comes the Inquisitor
  22. The Fall of Night

Season Three ("Point of No Return")

  1. Matters of Honor
  2. Convictions
  3. A Day in the Strife
  4. Passing Through Gethsemane
  5. Voices of Authority (this was originally meant to air before "Passing Through Gethsemane," but since the events of this episode tie into the beginning of "Dust to Dust," and aren't mentioned at all in "Gethsemane," the initial airing order is actually an improvement)
  6. Dust to Dust
  7. Exogenesis
  8. Messages from Earth
  9. Point of No Return
  10. Severed Dreams
  11. Ceremonies of Light and Dark
  12. A Late Delivery From Avalon
  13. Sic Transit Vir
  14. Ship of Tears
  15. Interludes and Examinations
  16. Walkabout
  17. War Without End, Part One
  18. War Without End, Part Two
  19. Grey 17 Is Missing
  20. And the Rock Cried Out, No Hiding Place
  21. Shadow Dancing
  22. Z'ha'dum

Season Four ("No Surrender, No Retreat")

  1. The Hour of the Wolf
  2. Whatever Happened to Mr. Garibaldi?
  3. The Summoning
  4. Falling Toward Apotheosis
  5. The Long Night
  6. Into the Fire
  7. Epiphanies
  8. The Illusion of Truth
  9. Thirdspace
  10. Atonement
  11. Racing Mars
  12. Lines of Communication
  13. Conflicts of Interest
  14. Rumors, Bargains and Lies
  15. Moments of Transition
  16. No Surrender, No Retreat
  17. The Exercise of Vital Powers
  18. The Face of the Enemy
  19. Intersections in Real Time
  20. Between the Darkness and the Light
  21. Endgame
  22. Rising Star
  23. The Deconstruction of Falling Stars

Season Five

  1. No Compromises
  2. The Very Long Night of Londo Mollari
  3. The Paragon of Animals
  4. A View from the Gallery
  5. Learning Curve
  6. Strange Relations
  7. Secrets of the Soul
  8. In the Kingdom of the Blind
  9. A Tragedy of Telepaths
  10. Phoenix Rising
  11. The Ragged Edge
  12. Day of the Dead
  13. The Corps is Mother, The Corps is Father
  14. Meditations on the Abyss
  15. Darkness Ascending
  16. And All My Dreams, Torn Asunder
  17. Movements of Fire and Shadow
  18. The Fall of Centauri Prime
  19. Wheel of Fire
  20. Objects in Motion
  21. Objects at Rest
  22. River of Souls
  23. The Legend of the Rangers
  24. Sleeping in Light


  1. A Call to Arms
  2. Crusade - This ordering, which JMS specified, ignores the uniform change in favor of maintaining continuity of storyline.
    1. Racing the Night
    2. The Needs of Earth
    3. The Memory of War
    4. The Long Road
    5. Visitors from Down the Street
    6. The Well of Forever
    7. Each Night I Dream of Home
    8. Patterns of the Soul
    9. The Path of Sorrows
    10. Ruling from the Tomb
    11. The Rules of the Game
    12. War Zone
    13. Appearances and Other Deceits
  3. Voices in the Dark
  4. The Road Home

[Home] [Top] [Comments]

Last update: July 22, 2023